Sweet Baby New Year

To say 2013 was a banner year is an understatement. In the span of 365 days I started a new job where I coached and consulted over 700 employees, saw my son hit double digits, lost my most loyal companion, moved into a new home, got a new kitten, had multiple visitors from afar, ran a million miles, covered 15% of my body in poison ivy hives and walked the Vegas strip. (yes, walked… not worked.) It is not with quiet reflection that I look on this past year, but with a chaotic, hit upside the head sense of what-the-hell-was-that?!

So baby new year has some pretty big boots to fill. Actually, I’d much prefer 2014 slide into a pair of slippers and let us settle in a bit. I’m actually hoping for more mundane this year.

That said, I should set some underwhelming resolutions. Heed the warnings to be realistic…specific. I will clean one junk drawer by April. I will reduce my sugar intake by 2%. I will channel my impatience with slow, repetitive conversations into constructive, positive suggestion 2 out of 5 times, thus reducing heaving sighs by the end of October.

But who am I kidding. I am a sucker for that Day One, fresh-start mentality. I can tell you how realistic I’ll be. I will even encourage you to do the same. Be gentle on yourself when setting goals. Focus on one area and break it down into small, manageable steps. But in the dark recesses of my brain, I am so very lofty. In this little monkey mind, I will be BETTER, STRONGER, VIBRANT, ORGANIZED AND SMASHINGLY BRIGHT in 2014. I will finally, for the first time in my life, achieve both athletic prowess AND effective communication in all relationships. I will completely overhaul my physical body, mental clarity, the ability to both relax yet maintain energy AND CLEAN ALL JUNK DRAWERS.

I know it ain’t all happening. Especially not those junk drawers. But if I’m going to be a realist, this IS my reality. I think big in the beginning. Why deny this is what I do? It’s about learning how to edit and bend during the year when those lofty goals start to dim.

Day One. Go nuts. Go big, be realistic, be what you want. But take advantage of that fresh-start feeling. It is so fleeting but it is so refreshing. See how long you can make it last.

Happy New Year!!!

463a634a734ed450f8b469288822d3ac

One thought on “Sweet Baby New Year

What do you think?

