The Next Chapter

Where in the hell have YOU been, Local Bites? You post in January and then we have to wait six fricking months for a new blog? You never call. You never WRITE!?

What kind of writer are you?

I’ve got fistfuls of excuses.  Good ones, too.

First and foremost, family goals trump personal ones, and I have packed my freelance bags. It was a nice trip. I learned a few things. But not as much as this person is going to learn.

coach

whistle around my neck…Badger fight songs pumping out of my office

Seriously, I am grateful to have landed a health coach position in a large manufacturing plant as part of their employee wellness program.  It’s an amazing opportunity to marry my professional skills with personal interests to preach beyond the choir. GMO labeling awareness flies straight out the window during that 4:45 a.m. cup of joe with a third-shift employee who’s dogs are seriously barking. I am truly learning more than I am teaching.

And a new job helped lead to this welcome upheaval:

SAMSUNG

I don’t just love my new home. I am IN love with my new home. Like, can’t-stop-thinking-about-you-don’t-ever-go- away- love.

new yard

Like, how-much-potential-do-we-have-to-GROW-together love.

future garden

I-want-to-be-a-better-person-for-you-love.

yay!

Big dreams for this property. Growing herbs, vegetables, fruit…chickens?

chicken coop

My one lament from the past few months is that she didn’t make it here.

my sweet girl Sophie, you would have loved it here

We leave her memory at the last home. I get a lump in my throat just thinking about how many balls she would have gladly chased on these acres. This should have been her yard.

But I toot my own horn loudly from the new Local Bites ranch. I am so proud of us. I am so happy for us. We finally have a comfortable space for family and friends. A kitchen that invites serious creation. Land that can, and will, nourish us.

Oh, the writing may trickle in more slowly these days, but I’ve got inspiration up the yin yang. The potential for stories of health, growth, challenges…and poison ivy remedies…almost overwhelms me.

Stay tuned for the next chapter.

4 thoughts on “The Next Chapter

  1. Anonymous says:

    Overwhelmed with overwhelmth. It’s a good life if you don’t weaken. Good to read you again. BTW, saw a bumper sticker that said, “Running on bacon and rainbows.” What does it mean?

  2. Mary litzer says:

    Such happiness I am hearing. Your yard is as beautiful as your house and you. I am so happy for all of you. Can hardly wait to see it….soon! Loves, Auntie Mar

What do you think?

