The Piggly Wiggly Challenge

In my latest post for Eco-Snobbery Sucks, I share the happy place that’s possible at the local Piggly Wiggly. I encourage those of you living in small towns to dig a little deeper for healthy gems at your local supermarket when you find yourself spending too many gas $$ hauling ass into the big city for a better selection.

What I wasn’t able to squeeze into the 500 word limit is my hope that stores like The Pig will jump on the eco-bandwagon more quickly, particularly in the produce department. Grocery snobbery prevails for certain conventionally grown items like carrots. Regardless of whether or not those trace amounts of chlorine on baby carrots are safe for human consumption, carrots are still on the list of vegetables that absorb and retain high levels of pesticides during the growing process.

Carrots how I like 'em

We eat a lot of carrots. If organic isn’t available, we are carrotless until I can get my hands on a big bag grown by these produce gurus. 

That sucks for me AND the Pig. They lose my business and I have to spend more money driving to get my organic carrot fix.

I personally know farmers and gardeners who, at the end of the harvest, are left with surplus that becomes compost because the school, food pantry, retirement home and grocery store won’t accept it out of fear that it will go to waste.  Why not try? Why not take in more local produce, and market it better so budding locavores like me know when I should swing by the store with my credit card.

The business is out there. Get us into your store.

There’s gotta be an answer. Why not create a mini local farmer’s market section in the store so we can easily identify what’s grown by our neighbors? If it doesn’t work, then screw it. Start a big community compost pile behind the store and charge by the pound.

But try, Pig, try.

Piggly researches the possibility of buying from Tipi Produce

 Carrot Photo by Alvimann/www.morguefiles.com
One thought on “The Piggly Wiggly Challenge

  1. Fay says:

    Foods found on the link “Low Pesticide Foods You Don’t Have to Buy Organic” such as onions, avacados, sweet corn, pineapple, mangoes, asparagus, sweet peas, cabbage,eggplant, watermelon, broccoli, kiwi, papaya and sweet potatoes.
    Also, like in olden days and in far away places, you go to the store to see what’s there and what’s fresh, then build your meal around that. As compared to preparing a list and being disappointed when you get to the store and can’t find the ingredients you need/want.

What do you think?

