The dilemma with the Omnivore’s Dilemma

On Monday, Eco Snobbery Sucks decided to take yours truly on as a contributing blogger. Although not a paying gig, (yet) I am excited for the opportunity to write to the unknown audience beyond my loyal core (not that I don’t love you all…) Comment on the article if you have time, so the website founder knows I have potential to bring in a crowd.

In my first article, I question high literacy levels in health books, like the Omnivore’s Dilemma. Even author Michael Pollan discusses how it benefits the food and nutrition industry to keep us confused about what we should eat, so that we rely on said industries to clear it all up for us. His books Food Rules and Omnivore’s Dilemma for Kids are great examples of delivering the message in simpler terms so it doesn’t feel like homework.

In my article, I ask for examples of messages lost in high literacy chaos AND positive examples of resources that bring health/wellness words home in an enjoyable and user-friendly manner. So far, the reaction has been….well, softly chirping crickets.

Got any? With your help, I would like to start a list of and review resources that I can recommend to folks who want to live healthier but are just too damn busy for reading assignments.

Which book can you get through without zoning out?

Thanks for your help!

3 thoughts on “The dilemma with the Omnivore’s Dilemma

  1. Fay says:

    Having now read your fact-filled, informative, and stimulating article, I feel I should amend my reply as I don’t want to leave the impression that you are not taken seriously. “Why Are Health Books Written at Such a High Level” is a piece of high end journalism.

  2. Fay says:

    Looks to me like YOU have a BOOK to write. A book that appeals to the average mom down the road/block/hall. A book that doesn’t have “wellness” in the title or on any page. A book that fools the reader into learning and understanding what’s good and bad without being preached to. I like your writing style. Erma Bombeck and David Sedaris in the kitchen. The author is you, grasshopper. I recommend a book by YOU!

  3. Mandy says:

    Great post! I wish I had some to share, but I, myself, am on a quest to find a better way to navigate this confusing world of healthier eating 🙂

What do you think?

