Rapture

The definition of “rapture” depends on your beliefs. As a humble Christian, you may believe you will meet Jesus in the sky during his second coming. If Blondie is more your speed, men from Mars will eat your head, then will settle for eating only guitars once they are weary of the human race. 

Regardless, the root of the word means ‘to be caught up” or “taken away”. Whether taken literally or figuratively, it signifies a transport of body or emotions to Heaven or to a godly place on Earth.

Every spring, our two apple trees are in full bloom for less than a week. Funny that this year, the most intense blossoms burst open on Rapture weekend. I take this small window of opportunity to stand beneath the trees, nostrils flaring, inhaling every trace of scent I can suck into my little nose. The soft petals silently snow down on my hair, on my garden, on my dog and on my world. And for a quiet sliver of a moment, I am taken away. Transported to the place where my Heaven and Earth join forces, reminding me to breathe and be grateful for this smell and for my garden, for my dog and for my world.      

This is my church.   

2 thoughts on “Rapture

  1. Mandy says:

    Girl! I love you! Your words are like a sermon to me; for reeeeaaaalz! We did a lot of planting this weekend and I was taken away by the smell of Peonies!!! 🙂

  2. Shiri says:

    Amen, sista. I (literally) did the same thing yesterday. There is something truly holy about an apple blossom-as though from The Garden. Perfect-in color, scent, beauty. Not sure what WILL happen in this world, but I am sure that RIGHT NOW is an amazing time.

What do you think?

